Chak – What? A Beginner’s Guide to Chakras

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 11.45.27 AM

If you’ve ever been to a yoga class, then you’ve probably heard the teacher reference a chakra during a certain pose, such as: reaching your crown chakra towards the sky during standing tree or opening up your heart chakra during camel.

If all of this chakra talk is over your head, don’t worry. It can be confusing to understand what exactly all of these things mean so let’s try to break it down:

  • There are 7 chakras or energy points within our body.
  • These 7 energy points are actual physical locations within our body where major nerves and organs are located.
  • Each energy point has a physical connection (body) as well as a spiritual or emotional connection (mind and soul).
  • All 7 of the chakras need to stay open in order for us to maintain balance within our lives.
  • A chakra stays open through different yoga postures and meditation.

So where does a chakra noobie even start? After reading each chakra description, simply think about the energy point location. This is called bringing awareness to the body and is the first step to aligning your chakras.


1. Muladhara – a.ka. The Root Chakra

Location: Base of spine and tailbone area

The root chakra creates stability in your life. When basic needs are met, like shelter, food and clothing, we feel secure. Not only are our physical needs important, but also our emotional and mental needs. Fear and anxiety can develop if we don’t have some sort of consistency within our basic needs. Having a balanced root chakra is essential to our foundation.

2. Svadhistana – a.k.a. The Sacral Chakra

Location: Above the pubic bone, below the belly button

The sacral chakra focuses on creativity and sexuality. Humans were designed to create, to build, and to make things. Our lifestyles should revolve around creating, whether it is through painting, a new home project, or even making a new playlist. Tap into your inner child, be playful and reap the benefits.

3. Manipura – a.k.a. The Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: Above the belly button area

Feeling sick to your stomach over a decision you have to make? The solar plexus is where our confidence and self-esteem stem from and it is located right in our stomach. This is where the true power lies to make choices and our willingness to commit and try new things. If you’re feeling out of balance in this chakra, take time to think deeply about the issue that is making you question yourself.

4. Anahata – a.k.a. The Heart Chakra

Location: Right above the heart

The heart chakra is the middle chakra within our body and connects the first three physical chakras (root, sacral and solar plexus) to the last three spiritual chakras (throat, third eye and crown). An open heart chakra means you are full of love, compassion and joy. If it is closed, then you’ll be more likely to hold grudges and hold onto grievances. Living a life of empathy and the willingness to forgive is essential to having a balanced life.

5. Vishuddha – a.k.a. The Throat Chakra

Location: Neck, throat, jaw, mouth, tongue area

The throat chakra is all about truthful expression and communication through the voice. We must say what is on our mind and what we believe true (while still being nice) in order to keep this chakra open. It’s not always easy to stand up for what we believe (and to do it with compassion) but it’s important in keeping us balanced.

6. Ajna – a.k.a The Third Eye Chakra

Location: Between the eyebrows, on the forehead

The third eye chakra needs to stay open in order for us to see the big picture. This is where our intuition and awareness is located within our energy points, which allows for deeper insight. By keeping this chakra open, we can harness the wisdom and foresight to make decisions.

7. Sahawara – a.k.a The Crown Chakra

Ah, yes. The crown chakra. Sahawara is our connection to the world around us, including other people, animals and even a divine spirit. This is the energy point where we focus on enlightenment and being a part of something bigger than ourselves, whether that is simply nature or a spiritual being.

Location: The top of the head

What’s your favorite yoga pose to open the heart chakra, or another chakra?  Let us know in the comments! We love learning new things from our followers.

Click here for tools to align your chakras.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *